Home » Uncategorized » CONTEMPLATIVE INQUIRY IN ACTION

CONTEMPLATIVE INQUIRY IN ACTION

Thought I’d this here.

contemplativeinquiry

For me, active spirituality is based on inquiry rather than faith. Formal inquiry moves in cycles, and in my experience each cycle has a number of phases:

  • Intuitive musing, gradually distilling into a sense of direction
  • Crystalizing intent, and refining it with the work of preparation
  • Actualizing the intent
  • Relaxing after the intent is achieved
  • Reflection/review on the process and harvesting its fruit
  • Wondering whether the inquiry needs another cycle, which may move me on to more intuitive musing …

I’ve just had a period of down time from intensive practice. For a few weeks I let it go, my attention elsewhere. I’m just beginning to pick the work up again, at a reduced level of intensity. My sense of things after the break is not quite the same as my sense of things before, even though there is a great deal of continuity. Now as I return to the…

View original post 343 more words

Leave a Reply

